The Hearn Recital Room
Took place on Mon 4 Sep 2023, 1.10pm


Lunchtime Recital: Helen Nicholas piano

60 minutes
The Hearn Recital Room
Took place on Mon 4 Sep 2023, 1.10pm

Performing an all Rachmaninoff programme in celebration of the 150th anniversary of his birth on 1st April 1873.

Vocalise, Op. 34 No. 14 (Arranged by Zoltán Kocsis)
Morceaux de fantaisie, Op. 3
1. Elégie in E-flat minor
2. Prélude in C-sharp minor
3. Mélodie in E major
4. Polichinelle in F-sharp minor
5. Sérénade in B-flat minor

Selected Préludes & Études-Tableaux:
1. Prélude in G major, Op.32 No. 5 (Moderato)
2. Étude-Tableau in E-flat minor, Op.33 No. 5 (Non Allegro – Presto)
3. Étude-Tableau in G minor, Op.33 No. 7 (Moderato)
4. Prélude in B-flat major, Op.23 No. 2 (Maestoso)

As a respected soloist and chamber musician, Helen Nicholas has performed at some of the UK’s most prestigious concert venues, including the Royal Opera House, Wigmore Hall, St Martin-in-the- Fields and Bridgewater Hall.

In 2014 she released her debut album, which features Ravel’s Gaspard de la nuit, plus other works by Beethoven, Scarlatti, Chopin and Debussy.

As an alumnus of the Jette Parker Young Artists Programme at the Royal Opera House, she joined The Royal Ballet music staff on productions including The Nutcracker, Onegin, and Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland.

She has also appeared as a soloist with the Orchestra of the Royal Opera House and has given solo and duo recitals in the Crush Room and Paul Hamlyn Hall.

Helen enjoys being the resident pianist for the Metropolitan Police Choir, who have performed at venues including Southwark Cathedral and Westminster Abbey, and appeared on ITV’s ‘Good Morning Britain’.

Originally from Poole in Dorset, now living in Blackheath, Helen began her professional studies at Trinity Laban, graduating with a First Class Honours Degree in 2011 and achieving a Distinction for her Masters at the Royal Academy of Music in 2012. During her studies, Helen was awarded the ‘Nancy Thomas Prize’ for the highest achieving undergraduate pianist and the ‘Greta Parkinson Prize’ for outstanding achievements